The 5 steps to mastery

This post sure hits close to home for me, because it is something that I have only recently grown to understand.

Have you ever felt like your life lacked substance? That you’re 20 years old, 30 years old, 40 years old, 70 years old, and you never really got “really really great” at something? Do you ever feel like, wow, I have been on this planet however many years, and I still don’t have anything spectacular to show for my time here?

Now, I know, I’m doing the whole “psychic” thing and I am loving it. This is truly my life purpose, and I am aligned and I feel that in every cell in my body – but that’s not what I am talking about. I’m talking about a hobby, or talent, something that you can learn to master. What are you the master of?

Or do you find that sometimes you run and jump from one thing to another, never really taking the time to pursue any one thing in particular. Do you ever feel that you know about many, but you are the master of none?

I DO!

We now live in a world where instant gratification trumps deep understanding. Everything is instant – we demand it to be so. When we text, we expect a response as soon as possible. There are tests you can take online that give you your results within seconds of completion. There are products being sold that claim to teach you how to be amazingly great at something in just one month, 2 weeks, 5 minutes.

But true talent takes time, commitment, and hard work. It takes around 10 years of consistent practice to truly master something.

When you first start something, you usually suck, or maybe you are slightly OK at it. For me, let’s use yoga as an example. When I first started yoga, I sucked. But I had this deep longing within me that this was something I wanted to do every day. This is something I want to be really great at. Then you go through a period where you practice a lot, and you develop a deeper understanding of this new project, but you probably still suck. I’m still here. This period can last for as long as it takes.

Then after a couple years, you get pretty good. So you keep practicing, and you keep doing it, until you have totally mastered it.

Just find what you want to do. Something you LOVE to do, or at least would love to do, and would love to be great at. And do it! Commit yourself to 10 years of total mastery.

Realize that any body you admire, who you would say is a master of whatever field, has probably been doing it from around 5/6-10 years.

So, to summarize:

  1. Pick your talent/hobby/interest/dream from the catalogue of life!

  2. Join a class/ read about it/ practice it/ find opportunities to develop it.

  3. Keep a regular and consistent practice.

  4. Keep doin’ that for around 10 years.


  5. Viola! You’re a master.

I think if I had to choose a talent I truly want to develop I would choose Yoga. It took me a lot of time to come to this conclusion though. There are so many options:

Dancing, singing, an instrument of choice, foreign languages, writing, reading, painting, drawing, sculpting, knitting, math genuius!

What do you think? What would you like to get really good at? And are you ready to make a 10 year commitment to pursing this goal, rather than getting bored within the first two weeks and finding something new?

Comment this post and let me know what you would pick as your number one talent?


3 thoughts on “The 5 steps to mastery

  1. Jenny Anderson says:

    I would love to write a book like Eat, Pray, Love or even like Harry Potter! I have such a hard time to even sit & journal for 10 mins. Makes me wonder what is holding me back from starting? I like your advice about sucking and that is ok! I will have to allow this and just write!! Wish me luck. :0)

    Like

    • Malavika says:

      Totally. It’s all about commitment. I think that inspiration can only take you so far, and then comes dedication and discipline. That’s a noble goal to have, and I think you could do it! Get writing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

