Hello, Ireland!

I arrived in Galway, Ireland yesterday morning. It seems quite lovely so far, and I am surprised at how excited I am here. I miss the greenness of Europe. Everything is so green, and I’m talking about that gorgeous verdant, almost-lime-green, green.

I am not really enjoying the rain though. It rains constantly, and sporadically. It rains for about 10 minutes, pauses for 5 minutes – allowing the warm sun to peak through -, and then continues to rain. It goes on and on like this. Purchasing an umbrella is at the top of my to-do list.

Everybody seems very friendly here and I feel as though this is a place I could get very comfortable with. The down town area is littered with cobblestone and stores that I love.

I love listening to their Irish accent – it’s just so “fluffy.” I’ve been practicing . I’m not very good.

I visited my apartment. It’s very basic but it will do for the first year. I am doing my best to make it my “home”. I’ve met two my roommates, two lovely girls;  students of science and biochemistry. I’ve also made lots of friends during my orientation. It was all very overwhelming and the campus is huge but in deep down in my bones, I know this is right for me. I know that I have been longing for a place that will make me nervous, and a life that will challenge me.

There are times when I feel scared. I notice within me the little voice that says “Why can’t things just say the same?” but I do not let this voice define me. I remember someone once telling me that life begins outside of your comfort zone.

I feel like every single day I spend here, I am stepping further and further away from mine.

I am sure going to miss my mother when she leaves on Tuesday but I don’t want to cry. I don’t want to cry because I know this is a blessing. I don’t want to cry because I know that this is where my life begins.

I don’t want to cry because I know my life is a celebration.

6 thoughts on “Hello, Ireland!

  1. Jen says:

    How exciting, Ireland! This will be a great experience for you. Change is always scary at first, but exciting too. It’ll get easier 🙂 Good luck with school!

    Jen

    Like

    • Malavika says:

      Thanks Jen 🙂

      It does feel like a great experience, but it also feels really scary at times too! I hope it gets easier SOON 😛

      Thanks a bunch for leaving your comment

      m

      Like

  2. Renjith P Sarada says:

    Felt as if I was walking through the streets of Ireland!!

    More than that, what I liked was your thoughts – “I am sure going to miss my mother when she leaves on Tuesday but I don’t want to cry. I don’t want to cry because I know this is a blessing. I don’t want to cry because I know that this is where my life begins. I don’t want to cry because my life is a celebration.”

    Yes, life is a celebration and this is “A beginning”. Wish you all the best.

    “ALL WORK AND NO PLAY MAKES MALU A DULL GIRL”
    In the meantime, continue your prayers!

    Best Wishes,
    Renjith

    Like

  3. Nicola G says:

    How exciting to have this new chapter ahead of you, I know you’ll embrace it and do amazingly well. I still shed a little tear when my mum leaves me, and I’ve not lived at home for 19 years. It’s great to have the kind of mum who you can appreciate so much. Get a really nice umbrella!

    Like

    • Malavika says:

      Aw thank you
      It feels both exciting and scary.
      Do you think it gets easier?! Yes, it’s hard when you’re so close to your mom. She’s leaving tomorrow! 😦 I don’t know what I’ll do, haha!

      I got a nice black umbrella. I sure need it. It has been raining non stop since I arrived here. YUCK!

      Like

Leave a Reply

