I don’t know you

 

I don’t know you but I know that when you came alive, you were born to be someone very special.

I don’t know you, but I know that when you were a child, you looked at the world like it was a wonderland, and somewhere along the way, wondered where the magic went.

I don’t know you but I know you have loved someone more than you thought you could.

I don’t know you but I know that there is no one else in the world quite like you.

I don’t know you but I know you’ve looked at your naked body in the bathroom mirror and felt totally disconnected with your body.

I don’t know you but I know that you have some memories from a long time ago that still hurt to think about today.

I don’t know you, but I know that there was a moment in your life when you asked yourself the painful question “is there something wrong with me?”

I don’t know you but I know there came a day when you debated whether you should chase the colours of your dreams or just be “real” and troubled over why those two lives couldn’t be the same.

I don’t know you but I know that one day you woke up and looked in the mirror and felt completely beautiful.

I don’t know you but I know that you’ve once hurt somebody just because they hurt you first.

I don’t know you but I know that you’ve hurt somebody with your words and realized that you could never take them back.

I don’t know you but I know that you believe in love, and even in the times you don’t, I know you would if you let yourself fall.

I don’t you but I know that you’ve felt betrayed.

I don’t know you but I know that you’ve privately questioned things you’ve spent your life convincing yourself and other people you’re sure about.

I don’t know you but I know that sometimes you wish you had more courage.

I don’t know you but I know that you’ve cried and felt better afterwards.

I don’t know you but I know that somebody you love has died.

I don’t know you but I know that you’ve felt stuck in a job that you’ve out grown.

I don’t know you but I know that you’ve been afraid to leave, even though in your heart, you knew you had to.

I don’t know you but I know there is something in your life to be very proud of.

I don’t know you but I know that you sometimes still think about the one that got away.

I don’t know you but I know that you there are times you look back on your life and see the way all the seeming coincidences have all been in your favour.

I don’t know you but I know you have felt judged for who you are.

I don’t know you but I know that there is someone out there who loves you and believes in you and wants you just the way you are.

I don’t know you but I know it hurts when somebody doesn’t believe in you and your big dreams, no matter who that somebody is.

I don’t know you but I know there is someone who thinks you are the coolest person ever without even trying.

I don’t know you but I know that you have pictured how life would carry on if you died.

I don’t know you but I know there have been moments where you have felt completely cherished and loved.

I don’t know you but I know there are times when you have made a difference, even when you don’t believe you have.

I don’t know you but I know that as a teenager, you tried hard to fit in and stand out, all at the same time.

I don’t know you but I know there’s something you are very good at, and could be even more wonderful at.

I don’t know you but I know you have a talent that you neglect because you don’t believe you have enough time or money.

I don’t know you but I know that if you just took a moment to realize how loved, howcherished, and how special you are, you would find yourself in all your friends, and families, and enemies and strangers. And you would see that your stories are everybodies stories, and that doesn’t make them any less important or any less meaningful. It just makes us human. And real. And you would see how together we are in everything we have ever faced, and will ever face in our lives. And you would see that you are never really alone. And you would open your eyes, your arms, and your heart

and you would come home.

again.

8 thoughts on “I don’t know you

Leave a Reply

