Hello 2011!

2011

 

2011 is going to be a year of enormous personal development for myself. I feel more conscious in my life than I ever have before. It will be a year of implementing sparkly new habits into my life.

I will continue to implement sparkly new habits into my life

Yep, the monthly challenges will ensue. I hope to do a new challenge each month, and I encourage you to take a look, and if it sounds like something you would be interested in – join me!

So my goal will be to implement 12 habits in 2011. After each challenge I will have to review my month and decide if I think it is worth my time to continue this habit – and this choice is ours to make.

Here is a tentative list of the habits I plan to sticking on my life with a bit of superglue and scotch tape.

♥  Rising early

My previous 7:00am challenge is now transforming into my 6:00am challenge.

♥  Meditation

The meditation challenge will help us reconnect with ourselves and start to get some kind of control over our chaotic minds. I once read “A quiet mind is more important than a positive mind” and that just stuck with me. Join me for this challenge where we will meditate every single day, twice a day, for half an hour each (more if you please!)

♥  Reading & Learning

I want to get in the habit of doing some kind of activity every day (other than school) that in some way pushes me mentally and intellectually. This challenge could manifest as:

Reading a certain number of books each month/books from different genres.

Playing a game of scrabble/sodoku/other brain teasers every day.

Reading the newspaper every day / Reading some king of informative editorial.

Expanding your vocabulary by learning a new word every day (I ♥  www.freerice.com)

 

♥  Practicing the art of gratitude

For the challenge itself I intend to write a list of three things every single day that I am grateful for in my day. I will also be sharing the love on this blog by starting “Things I love Thursdays”( inspired by many bloggers out there who also do this) to list some of the things I am grateful for today!

♥  Cooking and eating healthy

Gone are the days where I get home to my apartment at 10:00pm completely just RAVENOUS, and about ready to eat my cute roommate Marie. Well at least, this is the plan. During this challenge, I would like to take the time to learn more about what it means to eat healthy, experiment with cooking, and a cooking schedule that works for me! I also want to experiment with more desserts (well because, why wouldn’t i?). Everything in moderation!

OH and I also really have to stop eating so many twirls (my favourite chocolate bar ever.)

♥  Cleaning as you go

It becomes so easy to let a mess build up, to let things get “bad” before you feel inclined to do something about it. Why should it be that way? It gets so much more stressful that way aswell! So during this challenge, I will make it my soul purpose in life to clean my shit up, right after I make a mess. Because let’s face it, life get’s messy and there ain’t a thing we can do about it, except rethink our cleaning plan. It’s Entropy. It’s the natural law of the universe. Things like to get messy.

But I don’t!

So maybe we will have to work against the universe a little bit, but I’m pretty sure we can take it on.

♥  Exercise

For myself, I have set myself some specific goals in the area of breakdancing and yoga. My two current favourite things to do to my body. The purpose of this challenge will be to not only create a fitness schedule that works well for me, and keeps me active, but one that also ensures that I will reach my fitness goals I have for myself.

♥  Doing your most important tasks first

Ugh, this one’s a killer! But can you imagine how free your life will feel once you can implement this habit into your life? Maybe not 100% of the time (Come on, I’m only human) but at least 70% of the time. You would KICK ASS, that’s what! So, for this challenge, I will ensure I write down my three most important tasks of day – each morning after I wake up (At 6:00 hehe!). And then my goal will be to complete those three tasks to the best that I can as soon as possible – preferably before midday if that is possible.

I don’t know about you, but I sure waste a lot of time doing unimportant things for no real reason. And I’m over it.

♥  Goal Review

Here, I intend to review my goals every single day. It will just be a part of my night time routine – to look over a list of my goals. It should take approximately 30 seconds. Not too much of an investment. Just a habit I need to develop. During the weekends I intend on taking a slightly more detailed review – maybe taking up maybe a WHOLE 10 minutes out of my very busy life.

Did you know that a goal that is not reviewed within 3 days, is as though it has never existed. Freaky!

♥  Studying

It was only about 2 years ago that I even discovered how to study. Seriously, I can barely remember anything I was taught during my high school years in England. I don’t know what the heck I was busy with, but I was definitely busy with something, and learning was not it. I didn’t even know how to do it. Now I kind of know. Well, I have an inkling of an idea, a suspicion. I want to take this challenge to really develop it. To keep a constant study schedule so I do not have to cram (much) at the end of the year. I’d like to have more library parties throughout the week too.

♥  Blogging

My blog is my BABY, and of course I would have it as one of my most important habits! I would like to develop a regular writing schedule, and work hard at maintaining this blog – watching my baby grow and take its first real steps. I want to write more fun, informative, meaningful and helpful posts. I want to take more photographs and give you tons of eye candy to look at. Because who doesn’t love photographs?

♥  Responding to e-mails ASAP.

This one just had to be here. I’m so awful with this. My e-mail inbox is constantly full and I never feel like I make any progress with it. I think this is probably because I don’t respond to things right away (most of the time – I have my reasons – something more “pressing” that needs my attention.) and because of that there are many unanswered e-mails, many unbooked appointments, many unthanked people, and I am really so very sorry for that.

I value everyones e-mails to me. I value your words. Your thoughts. Your feelings. Your time. Your money.

I truly do.

From the bottom of my silly little heart.

During this very personal challenge, I WILL respond to e-mails as soon as I get them (it really doesn’t take much effort at all!), and if I feel like it would take more time or more thought and consideration to respond, I will put a big bright star by it, and address it as soon as possible.

This is the plan. And I’m going to do it. For you.

Because I love you, and I am what I am, because of you and your support.

 

———–

 

 

Remember, these are not my “goals” for the new year. These are the habits that will play a part (Sometimes a big part) in getting TO my goals for 2011.

The biggest mistakes we make about our new year goals are:

1. We are too vague about them.

We say things like “be nicer.”

Ok. I’ll be the first person to ask – what does that even mean? What does being nice mean for you? And how are you going to do it? And how are you going to know when you’ve done it? I’m not saying its not a legitimate goal – it’s awesome (although I think you are lovely the way you are), but you really need to be asking yourself more specific questions about this goal, so that you can actually track it, and feel awesome about yourself when you’ve achieved it.

 

2. We think about the “goal” but not the “habit” that it will take to get there.

It’s like saying “I want to have a body like _______”

But have you thought about the exercise habit you will need to get that body? Did you know you will have to go to the gym (etc) ___ times a week? Have you planned for that? If not, you need to plan for it!

What about saying “I want to get straight A’s in every class.”

But have you thought about the study habit you will have to develop (or even…create :P) in order to get there? Have you thought about all those parties you’re gonna be having at the library? Have you thought about your learning style? Have you thought about where you are at in your classes right now, and really considered the kind of effort it will take for you to push yourself from a B to an A+?

Well, you really need to think about that! It’s important.

If you don’t do the thinking behind the “new year’s resolutions” they are likely to stay as that – resolutions. Not a goal. Not really much chance of achieving it.

 

 

I hope that by doing these monthly challenges to implement these new habits in to our lives, it will make for an early rising, calm and collected, learning, grateful, healthy, clean, efficient sexy, confident, prioritizing, focused, dedicated, smart, and HAPPY superfox such as yourself.

 

—————


Here’s to a year of falling madly, deeply, head-over-heels in love.

With him. With her. With life. With yourself.

I hope we can find the grace to greet each day with love in our hearts, light in our eyes, and laughter on our lips.

 

 

kisses

malavika

 

One thought on “Hello 2011!

  1. Timothy says:

    I think I am down for all of these goals with you but one….rising at 6am for me is like a 5 times a year thing and its a big deal lol. ❤ Library parties! 😀

    P.S. Please do not eat Marie, she sounds really nice and I really would like to meet her someday. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

