Om nom nom: Vegetable and beef casserole

Today for dinner, I am making a vegetable and beef casserole. For dessert, I’m making….chocolate chip cookies!

The full recipe for the casserole is at the bottom of this post.

I made the decision to photograph and document the things I cook. Why? Well firstly one thing that really bothers me is recipe books without pictures. If I can’t see what you look like, how do I know if I want to eat you or not? I also really love to see recipe books with pictures for each step of the recipe, so you can see how on or off the mark you are as you are going, rather than getting a surprise at the end.

Secondly, because I like to share

And thirdly, because I love to express myself through photography.

April had a day out today at the tennis courts, so she was very tired when she got back. 

Here is some of what you need: 4 medium tomatoes, 1 medium onion, 1 cup cheese, 3 potatoes, 3 sticks celery ribs, 3 carrots.

Layer one begins with a base layer of potatoes, unpeeled and sliced.

Now start layering your carrots, celery and onion (and 2 cups green beans chopped which I totally forgot at the store today 😦 )

I was very excited to use my mom’s le creuset cookware, but quickly came to the sad realization that the casserole just wouldn’t fit inside it. So I had to switch into a deeper dish. Gotta roll with the punches. Sprinkle 1.5lbs of uncooked beef on top along with 1/2 tsp of thyme, salt and pepper each.

Repeat the layers. I kind of messed up the order though. Freestyle sista.

Top with tomatoes.

And this is what April did pretty much the entire duration of my cooking. Looked at me like this.

15 minutes in the oven at 400 degrees F.

Then approximately 1 hour at 350 degrees F.

Hot from the oven. Mmmmm. Sprinkle cheese over the tomatoes and let it melt.

Delicious.

I really loved this dish and I would give it a an 8/10.

Next time I would like to add green beans and mushrooms too.

And because it makes so much, I could pack it for someone’s lunch too 😉 🙂

DESSERT: CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES.

These guys don’t really need an explanation, hey?
I am the cookie monster.

I hope you had a good night. Tomorrow I am making a fruit pie (with apples, raspberries and blueberries), and I am already looking forward to it.

Adios amigos!

Vegetable Beef Casserole

Ingredients

– 3 medium unpeeled potatoes, sliced.

– 3 carrots, sliced.

– 3 celery ribs, sliced.

– 2 cups cut fresh or frozen cut green beans (which I forgot 😦 ).

– 1 medium onion, chopped.

– 1 pound lean ground beef (90% lean).

– 1 teaspon dried thyme.

– 1 teaspoon salt.

– 1 teaspoon pepper.

– 4 medium tomatoes, peeled, seeded and chopped.

– 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese.

In a 3-qt casserole, layer half of the potatoes, carrots, celery, green beans and onion. Crumble half of the uncooked beef over vegetables. Sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon eachof thyme, salt and pepper. Repeat layers.

Top with tomatoes. Cover and bake at 400F for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 350F and bake for about 1 hour longer or until vegetables are tender and meat is no longer pink.

Sprinkle with cheese, cover and let stand until cheese is melted.

Leave a Reply

