Om nom nom: Fruit pie

As promised, I tired my hand at baking my first pie ever! I think I have once tried making a Lemon meringue pie when I was younger, but it was a disaster (I’ll try again soon. Lemon Meringue Pie – you are on my list.) Today I decided to bake a fruit pie.

I can’t comment on much or compare it to the creation of other pies – because well, it is my first. But I would imagine this is the sort of pie I would like to make for new neighbours on the street to welcome to the neighborhood. It’s friendly, fruity and fun!

Once again, the full recipe is at the bottom of this post.

1 cup Blueberries

1 cup Raspberries.

1 cup Strawberries (Sliced)

This is what you will need for the filling. 1 cup raspberries, strawberries, tart apples (not shown), blue berries, 1.5 cups sugar and a couple tablespoons of instant cook tapioca and cornstarch.

Mix it all up to create this sugary mess.

I asked her to smile. And this is what I got.

So then I told her to imagine my dad with a giant poop on his head, and then I got this. I think I like this one better 😀

Here, I am making the pie crust: flour, egg, white vinegar, water, and shortening. It should have a fine bread crumb consistency.

And then somehow, you get this.

I’ve always wanted to do this!

Fill the pie crush with the filling.

It looks so pretty!

Cut the dough to make a lattice covering for the pie.
Brush on half and half cream to the crust and sprinkle coarse white sugar on top.

Place the pie into the oven at 375F for 45-55minutes.

In the mean time, check out my pedicure!:

love it.

And here it is! As you can see it is a little bit burnt from the oven, even though I took it out at 45 minutes.

FIVE FRUIT PIE

Ingredients:

1.5 cups sugar

3 tablespoons cornstarch

2 tablespoons quick cooking tapioca

1 cup chopped peeled tart apples

1 cup chopped fresh or frozen rhubarb (totally forgot about this, and to be totally honest, i’m not sorry.)

1 cup each fresh or frozen: raspberries, blueberries and sliced strawberries.

Crust:

2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup shortening

1 egg

1/4 cup cold water

2 teaspoons white vinegar

2 tablespoons half and half cream

2 tablespoons coarse sugar

Method:

In a large bowl, combine the sugar, cornstarch, tapioca and fruit. Let stand for 15 minutes.

In another bowl, combine flour and salt; cut in shortening until mixture resembles corase crumbs.

Combine the egg, water and vinegar; stir into flour mixture until just moistened.

Divide dough in half so that one portion is slightly bigger than the other. On a lightly floured surface roll out larger portion to fit a 9 inch pie plate. Transfer pastry to pie plate; trim pastry even with edge. Spoon fruit mixture into crust.

Roll out remaining pastry to fit top of pie and make a lattice crust. Trim, seal and flute edges. Brush with cream ; sprinkle with coarse sugar.

Bake at 375F for 45-55 minutes or until crust is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool completely on wire rack.

pie pie!

3 thoughts on “Om nom nom: Fruit pie

Leave a Reply

