The art of being a Women: What is available to us?

Dear Universe,

You know what I want to see? More resources available to women. For women. About being a woman. In one place.

Have you ever read Men’s Health? I have. And you know what? It is so awesome! It’s interesting, entertaining, and talks about the art of being a man. I couldn’t put it down. Read it cover to cover and thought to myself “I wish this was for women, and about women :(“

Have you visited: http://artofmanliness.com/?

That’s awesome too.

So, my question is simple and it is this: Why is there so little, if not ANYTHING of this caliber, available to women?

I tried reading Women’s health. It was a disappointment.

 For some reason, magazines for women are limited, watered down, and kind of lame.

I don’t want to read about how to perform an at home bikini wax using candle wax.

I don’t want to read about how to decode a drunken text you receive at 3:00am from the guy you are “kind of seeing”.

I don’t want to read about how to apply blush to your cleavage so it looks like you have bigger breasts (seriously. This actually exists!)

I want something of substance. I want to read something about the art of femininity – the art of being a woman.

There is really nothing available out there for woman.

There is bits and bobs, but nothing really concrete, fundamental or gathered in a focused place such as in a magazine or a website.

There are specific magazines you could buy to learn more about a certain area, such as cooking, You buy a cooking magazine. And that’s all you are going to get. Cooking. But there is more to being a woman than cooking. So then you want to read and research more about parenting and being a mother. So you buy a magazine about being a mama. But there is more to being a woman than being a mom. So then you keep buying different products until you question how many magazine subscriptions do you need to get until you ask yourself “Why the heck isn’t this more easy?”

I would personally love to see some kind of resource available for women, be it through print or through the internet. A place where women can access a plethora of information regarding the values and virtues of being a woman in the 21st century.

I would like to see the following issues addressed and explored:

–       Etiquette

–       Fashion

–       Dating

–       Personal development

–       Gardening

–       Cooking and baking

–       The art of being a wife

–       Our role as mothers

–       Friendship

–       Health and beauty

–       Sex and intimacy

–       Cleaning

–       Practical advice in regard to caring for your home and family (eg. Tips for cleaning, making pretty things, planning and organizing events such as dinner parties)

–       “Womanly skills”

–       The essential library for women: Books for women to read

–        Spirituality, faith, intuition.

–       Intellectual pursuit

–       Business topics for the modern day career girl

The purpose of this space would be to inspire women to be embrace their role in a feminine way. We will never be, nor can ever be, nor should ever want to be- men. We have our own feminine role to fulfill on this planet – to bring in our nurturing, caring and creative energy into circulation. We should revel in the difference between men and woman, not in a confrontational way, but in a celebratory way.

I, for one, want to learn how to be a woman in a meaningful way.

I want to educate myself about the role of a good wife, a good mother and a good woman in business and in life. I don’t want to hear about what Lindsay Lohan did last weekend.

I want to be inspired, but I also want to gain practical knowledge on how to do certain things. You know, not all of this 1950’s house wife stuff comes all that naturally at first. I would love to have a place that could teach you tips, tricks, hacks, and good habits that all come together to create a powerful and nurturing lady.

Call me old fashioned, but I think while militant feminisms did have a purpose initially in the plight of gender equality, I think too much of it crushes any hope for male chivalry and gentlemanliness (that we as women, ask for, and even at times demand!) – and more importantly, denies us our most fundamental gift as women – that we are women. That we do not need to fight for equality , because we are already equal. That we need to embrace our role and manifest our feminine energy into productive channels.

Being a woman is all encompassing. We ladies have to take care of a lot. We have to be loving wives, active mothers, we have to create a clean and warm home environment, cook meals,  maintain our health,  strive to feel beautiful, organize and plan events, run the household, educate ourselves, run our businesses, work, and amongst all this find the time and energy to pursue our own interests, pleasures and joys.

Woah. That is a lot.

Come on. Help a sister out!

I guess this blog post is part rant, part plea, part suggestion, part contribution, part putting it out there into the universe.

Maybe one day when I am ready for it, I would like to do something about it.

But until then, universe – I am open for new ideas!

I know that this is the kind of project I would follow, learn from, subscribe too, and contribute to whenever I felt I could.

What about you guys? What do you think? Wouldn’t this be a great idea?

If you are a girl, would you benefit from reading something like this? And if you are a man, would you like it if your peach had this kind of information readily available to her? Let me know 🙂

xoxo

8 thoughts on “The art of being a Women: What is available to us?

  1. camille says:

    Wow. I think this is one of the best posts I’ve read in a long time. I totally agree with you about women’s magazines being dull in nature and so sexually driven. I hate Cosmo for that very reason. All they ever talk about is sex; there’s so much more than that! Good post.

    Like

    • Malavika says:

      Thank you Camille! I’m glad you feel the same way. I’m really surprised there isn’t something already out there for women, when there is definitely a need for it.
      Ugh Cosmopolitan discusses only dating, fashion, sex and celebrities. There is more to being a woman than that – I am sure!

      I hope that one day we can do something about it!

      Like

  2. masterandcaptain says:

    I totally agree. Women’s magazines are always so disappointing. They just seem to be about celebrity lives and how to be more like them: What work out does Beyonce do? What lipstick is Taylor Swift wearing? I wish magazines would provide more admirable women who aren’t in fashion or movies. Women who are strong artists, musicians, or voices. Where are they?

    Like

    • Malavika says:

      🙂 I’m glad more ladies are getting involved! I think the image of the woman we should be striving for – is a combination of the traditional woman, and also the modern day independent woman. As for the magazine, I am in the planning and “being scared of” stages of thinking of setting up a website/blog for women dressing this very issue. There would be a variety of categories (The smart woman, the wise woman, the healthy and beautiful woman, the family woman, the good housewife – each topic could be addressed in the appropriate category) and contributors would submit articulate, classy and comprehensive guest posts to build an online “guidebook” for women. Well, this is my idea. I’ll see what I can do! Thank you for taking the time to comment 🙂

      Like

  3. Rogue Sprite says:

    I think just the generation today has managed to completely dilute the role of a woman in our society. Often we’re seen as decorations to a room, or something to just look at, and it would help if we took less time in focusing on that aspect of our femininity (because we have to admit, we are the aesthetic gender, and we should live up to that, but in balance with the rest of who we are).

    I think an archetypal image that we have lost in this generation is the image of motherhood. With all this hype about individualism and extreme feminism. I have no problem with equal opportunity, I just think that there is the acceptance that we are made different as women and therefore we have different roles. You don’t make a Corvette pull around a U-haul do you?… Also, that example might be totally off, but it does drive the point home.

    Even as single women with no prospects of marrying or having children, the image of a well-put together woman is someone who has her attention focused outwards. Not just on herself, but on other people. Again I’m not saying our role is to always take care of someone, but we do have a knack at being able to divert our energies and all our hearts into an outward and supportive and nourishing way. For the lack of a better image (and there’s possibly a reason for that), the image of motherhood speaks a lot to a woman’s femininity.

    Also, I honestly didn’t plan on saying all of that in this comment.
    Here’s something that I found online that may or may not be related to this subject:

    Like

  4. Emma D says:

    Hey there! I came across this post whilst I was looking for a blog or website similar to that which you mention .. as I had the idea of creating my own if I couldn’t find one. I couldn’t and so am going ahead with creating one!

    If you or anyone would like to help or be involved, please contact me on emma5036.blog@gmail.com as I would love to hear ideas and suggestions!

    Like

Leave a Reply

