The September Clean Habit updates

Hi everyone! How is everyone getting along with their September Clean Habit?

I’m really enjoying myself! I like taking care of my stuff and keeping my shit together. Here are some cleaning tips for you to keep you motivated for our September habit.

♥ Share household duties and chores

If you live in a big household (as I do) it’s a good idea to share your cleaning duties and rotate it over a set period of time.

For example, one person could be in charge of garbage (gathering it and disposing of it), another in charge of cleaning and wiping the countertops and surfaces.  Examples of specific duties could be:

  • Bathrooms.
  • The floors: Mopping, sweeping and vacuuming the floors,
  • Dishes:  Washing, drying, loading and unloading dishwasher
  • Garbage: Collecting and gathering from around the house and then disposing of it.
  • Cleaning and wiping the countertops and surfaces and dusting.

If each person claims one duty as their own – that will be their responsibility. You must make sure that your department is taken care of (along with your own bedroom).This will cover most aspects of cleaning of your house, and also make sure it is done much faster!

The less people you are living with, the more duties you will have to claim as your own. You can rotate these duties at a time interval that is suitable for you. Just to mix things up and keep things interesting, yo.

This is also a great strategy for cleaning after a party at your house.

♥ Organize your daily and weekly cleaning.

Maintaining a clean home becomes much easier when you can develop some kind of schedule for the tasks that must be done daily, and the tasks that must be done on a weekly basis (and seasonally, and annually too.)

When you start incorporating cleaning into your daily and weekly routines, everything seems much more easier!

This is what mine looks like:

Daily chores

1. Doing the dishes – loading and unloading the dishwasher. Keeping my kitchen sink sparkling and clean before bedtime! (10-15 minutes)

2. Sweeping my bedroom floor. I have laminate flooring and it gets pretty disgusting pretty disgustingly fast. I need to buy some rugs. (10 minutes)

3. Keep your shower, toilet and bathroom sink clean. Easy. Just be more aware and present after you use the bathroom. (5 minutes)

4. Making my bed every morning. (1 minute)

5. Do routine quick tidy-ups. Simply periodically make sure that everything is in its place. (2 minutes)

6. Go through all the stuff you accumulate throughout the day and ditch them or put them where they belong. For example – magazines, fliers, receipts, mail, papers. (10 minutes)

Every-couple-of-days-chores

1. Laundry

2. Garbage control 😉

Weekly chores

1. Change bed sheets (10 minutes)

2. Vacuum (20 minutes – depending on much space you have)

3. Dusting (10 minutes)

4. Mopping (20 minutes – depending on how much space you have)

♥ Stop hanging out in bed

I know it is so appealing and that I spent pretty much all of last year doing most things in my bed. Use my laptop. Talk to my friends. Eat snacks. Watch movies.

My excuse is that with the lack of other furniture in my room, and no other real space in my apartment for chillaxing (I lived in the student residences) the only comfortable “sitting and relaxing” place was my bed.

It was gross. My bed never felt fresh and clean when I crawled into it (again) at the end of the day and I hated that.

But my bed is not made for socializing.

Try to create another space in your home where you spend most of your time. It could be your living room or dining room. It could be a giant cushy beanbag on the floor, or a big comfortable chair, or a loveseat (I want it) it could even be at your desk.

I acknowledge that other students like myself may find this a challenge, as we share with other students, the only space we have for “ourselves” is probably our own rooms. And the possibilities for furniture in own rooms is pretty limited. Believe me, I know.

The less time you spend hanging out in your bed, the fresher and cleaner it will be when you get into it at the end of your hard day!

♥ Laundry of death

If you have a problem of allowing laundry to mount up, invest in a small laundry basket. When you have a huge laundry basket, it’s easy to allow laundry to mount up because you have the space to do so. If you have a small laundry basket, you will be forced to start thinking about doing your laundry more frequently because your overflowing small basket will be a constant reminder 😉

This also works for your garbage cans.

Here is an example of the laundry system I use. I know all of this is awfully redundant to most of the world population but like whatever 😀 :

After I have worn something that can be worn again, I hang it up to air out. This is my “I can wear this again” part of my system.

Once an item of clothing is ready for laundry I put it into my basket – keeping my whites, colors and delicates somewhat separately.

Once my basket is full (and it’s a small basket so it doesn’t take long) I put it into the washing machine.

As you know, the whites usually tend to take time to pile up, so you can just ask the people you live with if they have any more whites to add to your load.

It’s simple. It works!

♥ Take that little bit extra time to do things right

Maintaining cleanliness is possible if you put in a little bit extra time and energy each time you need to put things away.

That means when you come home from work, taking the extra time to hang up your coat, put taking things out of your bag that you need (keys, phone, lunch) , and putting your bag and shoes where it is supposed to go. It’s so easy to come home and dump everything on the floor, the chair, or God forbid – your bed.

We all have this extra couple of minutes to do things “right”. Slowly and carefully.

Sure there are times when you literally don’t have time to put your coat on a hanger and put it into your wardrobe which is organized by colour. Like when your wife is in labour. Or when your room is on fire. Or if your grandma just fell down the stairs.

*Needing to get onto facebook as fast as physically possible is not a good enough reason.*

—–

It’s my first day at school today and I’m excited! Thanks to Hurricane Katia I am pretty sure I will get blown away on my walk into campus this evening.

I have not forgotten about you my blogbabies, and in fact I have a big list of upcoming post ideas, but finding the time to sit and write is proving to be more difficult than anticipated.

 How clean are your homes this month?! Do you have any cleaning tips or systems that work for you? holla at me.

malavika

6 thoughts on “The September Clean Habit updates

  1. Sarah Marie says:

    What a great post! This has totally whipped me into shape (well at least it’s got me thinking big time!) since I have been anxious that my house needs an overhaul. I love that you took the time to break down timeframes for each little chore. It just shows me how easy it can be. Thanks! Once I am home (away for work) and get into school this week, I will take some advice 🙂

    Like

    • Malavika says:

      I’m really glad 🙂
      The best thing about maintaining a clean home is that it really doesnt (or at least, shouldnt) take a ridiculously long time if you make it into a habit. Good luck, homie.

      Like

  2. JSD says:

    One way to avoid ‘hanging out in your bed’ is to NOT have a TV in the bedroom…though as you mention, living with a bunch of other students may make that difficult. And not having a TV isn’t really the end of the world.

    Like

    • Malavika says:

      Very true. As “convenient” as it seems to have a TV in your room, it really can suck you into hanging out in bed all day. Luckily for me, I’m not much of a tv girl myself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

